Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 27th Sep 2017 at 10:25 PM Last edited by Enki : 30th Sep 2017 at 1:02 PM. Reason: solved
Default [solved] Absolute beginner question about defaulting
For a prehistoric save I'm trying to make the Bigfoot skin into a default replacement for all four Maxis skins. The general idea is to remove the replacements one by one as the generations progress to make more and more hairless mutants appear.

Anyway, I'm following this tutorial. My problem is, the template attached to the tutorial has four files labeled efhairbald, emhairbald, ufhairbald and umhairbald while the Bigfoot skin has hairfiles for all the lifestages plus two blueish files with "alpha" in their name (afhair, amhair, bfmhair, cfmhair, pfmhair, emhair, tmhair, tfhair, amhairalpha3, amhairalpha5). Can someone tell me which file from the original goes where in the template?

If I load my unfinished default replacement into Bodyshop, the sims are missing the backs of their heads when bald and some hairs turn partially black.
Advertisement
Scholar
Original Poster
#2 Old 28th Sep 2017 at 7:03 PM
I put emhair and efhair into emhairbald and efhairbald and then afhair and amhair into ufhairbald and afhairbald.
Result: The sims with the new defaults now have complete hats and nothing turns black anymore. However, I now feel like in those jokes where it says "some assembly required" and you've got parts (files, in my case) over. So despite me having working skin defaults now I'm still interested in what the correct solution would have been.
Née whiterider
retired moderator
#3 Old 28th Sep 2017 at 8:03 PM