Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!

Sunrise/Sunset Season Offset (More Realistic Sun Times!)

SCREENSHOTS
12,341 Downloads 348 Thanks  Thanks 133 Favourited 42,273 Views
Uploaded: 20th Nov 2014 at 10:14 PM
Updated: 10th Feb 2015 at 12:53 PM

Ever since I started playing The Sims 3 in 2009 I thought sunrise and sunset times in the game were not very realistic. This lead me to create the Longer Days Mod three years ago (hosted here at MTS: http://modthesims.info/download.php?t=421863) but when the Seasons EP released I felt there was more to be done. EA had coded a sunset/sunrise offset that changed the sun times over the seasons but it just wasn't right. The default was still daytime between 6 and 18 in summer and then shorter days all the other reasons, which made no sense to me. So here's a mod changing the offsets, without changing the INI files.

There are two versions of the mod, and you should only use ONE at a time:

Stockholm
This version changes the sunrise/sunset times to a more realistic one, matching the ones in Stockholm, Sweden - which happens to be my hometown. I used the Stockholm sunrise/sunset data from 2013 for spring equinox, summer solstice, autumn equinox and winter solstice and applied these to the four seasons. This makes for these sunrise/sunset times*:

Spring - 5:30/18:00
Summer - 3:30/22:00
Autumn - 6:30/19:00
Winter - 8:30/15:00

Polar
This version changes sunrise/sunset times to reflect midnight sun and polar night, having these sunrise/sunset times*:

Spring - 6:00/18:00
Summer - Sun never sets**
Autumn - 6:00/18:00
Winter - Sun never rises***

* These are the sunrise/sunset times if the game uses INI files specifying standard sunrise and sunset at 6 and 18, if these values are changed the game will offset from the modified values.